Kanya Sumangla Yojana

The social structure of India has been complex for decades and the discrimination against women isn’t uncommon or unheard of. But as we turn towards a new decade, it is time the government takes appropriate actions to eradicate this century-old discrimination and move towards a newer, better India.

Taking the first step towards establishing gender equality in Uttar Pradesh, the State government has initiated the Kanya Sumangla Yojana.

What is the Kanya Sumangla Yojana?

The Kanya Sumangla Yojana enables new opportunities for young girls while also providing social security to girls and women across the state. The state and the nation as a whole are aiming to reduce female feticide and child marriages, the Kanya Sumangla Yojana works as an empowering scheme, battling societal stereotypes and bringing out the best in the daughters of the nation. They get to achieve their full potential and get to lead independent lives.

Eligibility for the Kanya Sumangla Yojana

  1. To be eligible for the scheme, the beneficiary’s family should be a resident of Uttar Pradesh and should have a permanent residency certificate for which Ration card/Aadhar card/ Voter ID card/ electricity/telephone bill will be considered valid.
  2. The annual income of the family should be less than ₹3 lakhs
  3. Only two girls from a family will be covered under the scheme
  4. If a family has adopted an orphan girl child, a maximum of two girls, including the biological children of the family and those adopted legally will be beneficiaries of the scheme.

Parting thoughts

In a developing nation, regressive ideologies have no place. Bridging the gender gap is essential. Therefore, the Kanya Sumangla Yojana is promising to have a progressive impact on the nation in the years to come.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Similar Yojanas

Schemes launched by the state government

The state governments of India are the next important government bodies right after the central government of the country. The state governments constitute 28 states and 8 union territories

India is a democratic and republic country wherein highest authorities and powers are proffered to the central government. For the state government, real executive powers are given to Chief Minister as he is responsible for heading the Council of Ministers. The state governments of India work toward internal security, such as police department, social welfare, public health betterment and other similar state-related issues. The state government of the country earns its employee income from sales tax services, stamp duty services, and from some parts of GST.

The state governments have launched a variety of schemes so far. Some of the examples are as follows:

In Andhra Pradesh, Chandranna Bima Yojana, National Energy Efficient Agriculture Pumps Program, and Smart Pulse Survey have been launched. In Assam, Mass Rapid Transit System has been recently launched. In Maharashtra, Police Pratisaad Ask services and various schemes for the betterment of farmers have been launched. In Karnataka, PM Santwana Harish Yojana, and Housing scheme for Transgenders have been launched. In Uttar Pradesh, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gram Jyoti Yojana, Hausla Paushan scheme, and Swadhar Greh yojana have been launched.

The state government of India monitors both rural and urban development. However, it is not feasible for the state government to monitor all rural and urban local government bodies. Thus, based on the provided funding and coverage, rural and urban local entities create development plan whenever required. These government entities work in close association with planning commission and local or regional government sectors and authorities.

Apart from these schemes, the state government also ensures the effective implementation of centrally sponsored schemes in respective states.