Marriage Assistance Schemes

These days, with the economy being tight, luxuries are a big deal for the common populace. These luxuries sadly include wedding receptions too. Something every individual dream of, while growing up – of having a lavish wedding reception party – gets shattered the moment reality creeps in. 

To aid young individuals from all across the country get married the way cultures expect them to, the government of Tamil Nadu initiated various marriage assistance schemes. 

This scheme primarily is to help underprivileged individuals like daughters of poor parents or orphan girls and even widows who intend to remarry. 

  1. Scheme 1: The educational qualification of the bride, as per this scheme, should be at least 10th pass and in case of ST, the bride should have at least 5th pass certification. Financial assistance provided in this is ₹25,000/-
  2. Scheme 2: Educational requirement in this scheme is that the individuals should be degree holders from regular colleges. Cash assistance in this scheme is ₹50,000/-
  3. EVR Maniammaiyar Ninaivu Marriage Assistance Scheme for Daughters of Poor Widows: This scheme is for families whose annual income is less than ₹72,000/-
  4. Annai Theresa Ninaivu Marriage assistance scheme for orphan girls: There are no income limitations to avail the benefits of this scheme. 
  5. Dr. Dharmambal Ammaiyar Ninaivu Widow Remarriage assistance scheme: under this scheme, financial assistance of ₹15000 is given through ECS and another ₹10,000/- as National Savings Certificate along with 4 grams of 22-carat gold coin. 

In conclusion

Marriage may be a daunting experience for those who cannot afford it, but with the state government intervening in the same, marriage does seem possible for those who fall under the poverty line too. 

One thought on “Marriage Assistance Schemes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Similar Yojanas

Schemes launched by the state government

The state governments of India are the next important government bodies right after the central government of the country. The state governments constitute 28 states and 8 union territories

India is a democratic and republic country wherein highest authorities and powers are proffered to the central government. For the state government, real executive powers are given to Chief Minister as he is responsible for heading the Council of Ministers. The state governments of India work toward internal security, such as police department, social welfare, public health betterment and other similar state-related issues. The state government of the country earns its employee income from sales tax services, stamp duty services, and from some parts of GST.

The state governments have launched a variety of schemes so far. Some of the examples are as follows:

In Andhra Pradesh, Chandranna Bima Yojana, National Energy Efficient Agriculture Pumps Program, and Smart Pulse Survey have been launched. In Assam, Mass Rapid Transit System has been recently launched. In Maharashtra, Police Pratisaad Ask services and various schemes for the betterment of farmers have been launched. In Karnataka, PM Santwana Harish Yojana, and Housing scheme for Transgenders have been launched. In Uttar Pradesh, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gram Jyoti Yojana, Hausla Paushan scheme, and Swadhar Greh yojana have been launched.

The state government of India monitors both rural and urban development. However, it is not feasible for the state government to monitor all rural and urban local government bodies. Thus, based on the provided funding and coverage, rural and urban local entities create development plan whenever required. These government entities work in close association with planning commission and local or regional government sectors and authorities.

Apart from these schemes, the state government also ensures the effective implementation of centrally sponsored schemes in respective states.