National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana

Launched on January 21, 2015, National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY) is a central sector scheme implemented by the government of India. The scheme mainly focuses on the holistic development of heritage cities of India operated under the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs. HRIDAY aims to bring together urban planning, financial growth, and the conservation of heritage, ultimately, preserving and maintaining heritage of 12 selected cities, namely, Ajmer, Amritsar, Amaravati, Badami, Dwarka, Gaya, Kanchipuram, Mathura, Puri, Varanasi Velankanni, and Warangal.


The objectives of HRIDAY are as follows:

  1. Planning, establishing, and maintaining heritage-sensitive infrastructure
  2. Providing servicing and infrastructure provisioning to city’s heritages
  3. Strengthening heritages for effective tourism
  4. Performing service delivery while focusing on sanitation services, such as public toilets, water supply facilities in public areas, street lights, drainage, waste management, roads, footpaths, and various tourist-centered conveniences
  5. Encouraging core tangible activities for increasing livelihood avenues 
  6. Establishing an effective link between the tourism industry and cultural aspect of a city
  7. Promoting urban heritage adaptive rehabilitation that comprises latest technologies for modifying historic buildings in a city
  8. Reflecting the city’s unique characteristics and tourist attractions by promoting aesthetically pleasing, easily accessible, informative, and safe environment


The budget of the entire scheme is over Rs. 500 crore. Because HRIDAY is a central sector scheme, entire funding is provided by the government of India. The scheme was valid from December 2014 to March 2019.

For more information click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Similar Yojanas