Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana

Announced in 2003, Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana envisions to rectify regional imbalances in terms of accessibility of reliable and affordable tertiary healthcare services and spread superior medical educational facilities.

The scheme comprises two basic components: 1) setting up new AIIMS-like institutions and 2) upgrading enlisted Government Medical College Institutions (GMCIs). Till now, over 20 AIIMS and 75 GMCIs have been covered.

Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana is divided into three phases as follows:

  1. First phase

In the first phase, the government is to establish six new AIIMS-like institutions, one each in Bihar (Patna), Chattisgarh (Raipur), Madhya Pradesh (Bhopal), Orissa (Bhubaneswar), Rajasthan (Jodhpur), and Uttaranchal (Rishikesh). For each institution, the estimated cost is Rs. 840 crore. Moreover, 13 existing GMCIs are to be modernized with an estimated cost of Rs. 120 crores each.

  1. Second phase

In the second phase, the government has approved to establish two more AIIMS-like institutions, one each in West Bengal and Uttar Pradesh. This phase also focuses on modernizing six existing GMCIs in Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, and Maharashtra. In this phase, the estimated cost for each AIIMS-like institution is Rs. 823 crore, whereas that for each medical institution is Rs. 125 crore. 

  1. Third phase

In the third phase, the government proposes to modernize or upgrade existing GMCIs in the states of Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Kerala, and Karnataka. The estimated project cost for upgrading each institution is Rs. 150 crore, of which Rs. 125 crore and Rs. 25 crores are given by the central government and respective state government, respectively.

For more information click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Similar Yojanas

Prime minister-launched schemes in India

Over the years of Indian Politics, many prime ministers have implemented schemes and welfare initiatives. These schemes are mainly funded by the central government of India and also by the state governments. Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Manmohan Singh, Rajiv Gandhi, and Narendra Modi have worked for the betterment of society.

One unique aspect of the schemes is their catchy names, such as Swachh Bharat Mission and Smart Cities Mission. The names have much more attention from masses. The government of India under the influence of prime ministers has doubled many of its flagship schemes and programs. Recently, on May 31, 2019, the government declared to extend PM Kisan Samman Nidhi. The scheme was originally available to only some categories of farmers; it has now been made available to all farmers in the country. Under this scheme, farmers are annually paid Rs. 6,000 in three installments. Over 145 million people would be benefitted from this. Launched by September 2018, PM Jan Arogya Yojana would be targeting 107 million people. New Jal Shakti Ministry has been announced with the aim of availing piped water to all Indian families by 2024. Schemes have also been launched for better skill-training activities and entrepreneurship, such as Skill India Mission and Make in India Mission. The National Rural Employment Guarantee Act was launched in 2005 for social security purposes, promising livelihood and employment to rural areas.

There are many pension-related schemes for our country’s farmers, traders, and entrepreneurs. Startup India is one of the flagship initiatives launched for strengthening startup culture and professional ecosystem. While prime ministers-launched schemes have done the best to fix agricultural crisis, employment and investment are expected to be next on the government’s agenda.